Top Batsmen and their Record-Breaking Longest Sixes in IPL History

Any batsman who hits a six in IPL is measured inside the meter that how long that batsman has hit, but do you know which batsman has hit the longest six in IPL?

If you do not know, then today in this blog we are going to tell you about 10 such batsmen who have hit the longest sixes in IPL.

What is the length of the longest six in IPL?

Albie Morkel had hit six of 125 meters in IPL, due to this six of 125 meters, he took the record of hitting the longest six in IPL.

Player Name  Team  YearDistance (in meters)
Albie MarkelChennai Super Kings2008125
Praveen KumarKings XIPunjab2011124
Robin UthappaRoyal Challengers Bangalore2010120
Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore2013119
Yuvraj SinghKings XIPunjab2009119
Ross TaylorRoyal Challengers Bangalore2008119
Gautam GambhirKolkata Knight Riders2017117
Ben CuttingSunrisers Hyderabad2016117
Liam LivingstonePunjab Kings2022117

Batsmen hitting longest sixes in IPL 

Albie Morkel Longest Six in IPL

Albie Morkel has been an IPL player who holds the record of hitting the longest six in IPL and he made this record in the year 2008 while playing for the Chennai Super Kings team.

But from the year 2008 to the year 2023, no batsman gets this record. Albie Morkel had hit six of 125 meters in IPL, due to this six of 125 meters, he took the record of hitting the longest six in IPL.

Former South Africa all-rounder Albie Morkel set the record for the longest six in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Praveen Kumar Longest Six in IPL

We do not see Praveen Kumar playing in IPL anymore, but in the year 2011, Praveen Kumar made the record of hitting the longest six, he hit six of 124 meters in the year 2011 while playing for the Punjab team.

Adam Gilchrist Longest Six in IPL

In 2011, Adam Gilchrist hit six of 122 meters while playing for the Punjab Kings team.

Robin Uthappa Longest Six in IPL

Robin Uthappa batted brilliantly while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore team in the year 2010, during which he hit six of 120 meters in 1 ball.

Chris Gayle Longest Six in IPL

Chris Gayle, known as Universal Boss in IPL, has always been famous for his long sixes. Chris Gayle hit a long six of 119 meters in the year 2013 while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore team.

Yuvraj Singh Longest Six in IPL

Yuvraj Singh, known as Sixer King, is very famous for his six sixes, but do you know that Yuvraj Singh has hit six of 119 meters in IPL and this six was played by Yuvraj Singh while playing for Punjab in the year 2009?

Ross Taylor Longest Six in IPL

Former New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor has hit six of 119 meters in the IPL. He hit this six in the year 2008 while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore team.

Gautam Gambhir’s Longest Six in IPL

In the year 2017, playing for Kolkata, Gautam Gambhir hit a long six of 117 meters, during which Gautam Gambhir was also the captain.

Ben Cutting Longest Six in IPL

Ben Cutting made a long six of 117 meters in the year 2016 while playing for the Sunrisers Hyderabad team.

Liam Livingstone Longest Six in IPL

IPL 2022 was great for Liam Livingstone, during this Liam Livingstone played many brilliant innings and also hit many sixes, Liam Livingstone hit a long six of 117 meters while playing for Punjab in IPL 2022.

England’s fiery all-rounder Liam Livingstone is wreaking havoc on the bowlers in the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Livingstone, who bats at number 4 for Punjab Kings (PBKS), has hit the longest six of this season. In the match against Gujarat Titans on Tuesday (May 03), Livingstone hit a 117-meter six off Mohammed Shami. That over of Shami proved to be the last over of PBKS’s innings. The scorecard of the 16th over was like this – 6,6,6,4,2,4 i.e. Shami scored a total of 28 runs. With this, Punjab defeated Gujarat by eight wickets. Livingstone’s 117m six was the highlight of the entire match. Livingstone has hit many sixes over 100 meters this year. Let’s take a look at the longest sixes in IPL 2022 so far.

The visuals of watching a batter dance down the pitch and dispatch the ball into the stands are enticing moments for the spectators of the game to live up to.

One of the greatest requirements of the modern-day game is to take the attack against the opposition. Not only the crowd is enthralled when the ball is dispatched into the stands but the batter is boosted with enough confidence after the shot.

While playing for Chennai Super Kings against now-defunct Deccan Chargers in IPL 2008, Morkel clobbered left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha for a humungous six, a 125-meter six. The feisty shot from the South African happens to remain the longest six of the IPL even after 15 seasons.

Former Indian fast bowler Praveen Kumar, surprisingly, stands second on the list of longest sixes in IPL. Kumar smashed Mumbai Indians ace bowler Lasith Malinga for 125 meters over long-off in a match between MI and KXIP in IPL 2013.

Universe Boss Chris Gayle holds the record for most sixes in IPL – 357 in 141 innings – with the longest one being 119 meters against Ashok Dinda during his belligerent 175* vs PWI in IPL 2013.

Gayle’s 119m six is, however, the fifth-longest six in IPL. Yuvraj Singh and Ross Taylor have also matched the 119-meter distance in the tournament at some stage.

The most surprising name in the top 10 longest six of IPL of all-time would be Gautam Gambhir. Gambhir seldom played in the aerial route and preferred timing his stroke play accurately to find the gaps.

However, Gambhir charged Rajasthan Royals pacer S Sreesanth during a chase in 2013. Gambhir walked out of his crease and bent his back foot a bit to slog Sreesanth over a deep square leg for a maximum.

Former Australian Test batsman Simon O’Donnell hit a 122-meter six off Greg Matthews of New South Wales while playing for Victoria in the Sheffield Shield, a first-class tournament played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in 1993. The ball had landed on the third floor of the Great Southern Stand at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. 

New Zealand opening batsman Martin Guptill, who has hit the most sixes in T20 International, is at number three on this list. In 2012, Guptill hit a 127-meter long six toward the mid-wicket boundary against Lonwabo Tsotsobe in a T20 match against South Africa at the Westpac Stadium in Wellington. 

Australia’s Edin Blizzard, known for his powerful shots in T20 cricket, hit the fast bowler for a 130-meter six over the square leg boundary while playing a T20 final match for the Victorian Bushrangers at the WACA in January 2008. The left-handed batsman was also a part of the Mumbai Indians team in the IPL.

Leave a Comment